Archive Home



Scottish Marathon Road Championships

"The Scottish Marathon Championship 1946-2000 and The Women's Championship 1983-2000" by Fraser Clyne and Colin Youngson (reproduced here by permission) provides most of the information that anyone would like to know about these Championships. Importantly they state that the Men's Championship was established in 1946 and the Women's race in 1983. However by that time Dunky Wright of Clydesdale and Maryhill Harriers had already won the Empire Games Marathon in 1930 and run in three Olympic Games, Paris 1924 (DNF), Amsterdam 1928 (20th) and Los Angeles in 1932 where he finished 4th - the best ever placing by a Scot. The other Scottish Olympic marathon runners are Tom Jack (London 1908 - DNF), Donald McNab Robertson (Berlin 1936 - 7th), Jim Alder (Mexico City 1968 - DNF), Donald Macgregor (Munich 1972 - 7th), Liz McColgan (Atlanta 1996 - 16th), Karen McLeod (Atlanta 1996 - 45th), Freya Ross (London 2012 – 44th), Callum Hawkins (Rio de Janeiro 2016 - 9th), Derek Hawkins (Rio de Janeiro 2016 – 114th) and Tsegai Tewelde (Rio de Janeiro 2016– DNF).

We should also recognise the pioneering work done Dale Greig in the 1960s in getting women accepted as participants in marathons. Eventually she won out and is recognised by the IAAF as holding the 1st official World best performance for a woman with her 3.27.45 in the 1964 Isle of Wight race.

The Scottish Championship marathon team race was introduced in 2009 with gold medals being awarded to the 1st teams only with the result being calculated on aggregate times for a team of 3. From 2010 on gold, silver and bronze team medals were presented.


Team Members


1971 Start

Ranking Lists

Yearly Ranking Lists

Don Macgregor's Marathon training manual

With the advent of the Dundee People's marathon in 1983, Radio Tay comminnioned a series of weekly broadcasts from Don Macgregor to help those preparing for the event. Eventually these broadcasts grew into a training manual that can be found here.