East District Cross Country League

The Scottish East District Cross Country League was formed in October 1924, the four founder members being Edinburgh Southern Harriers, Heriots Cross Country Club, Edinburgh Northern Harriers and Edinburgh Harriers.

In the first season there were 4 races with the changing and starts being at Public Baths in Edinburgh. Portobello and Glenogle Baths were the venues, each being used twice. After 2 seasons of 4 races the league changed to 3 and this has remained traditional to the present day.

The competition was originally called the Edinburgh and District Cross Country League, changing name to the present title in 1936.

East District Clubs compete for the Sandilands Shield donated by George Sandilands of Kirkcaldy in 1927.

There was no competition in seasons 1939/40 to 1946/47 inclusively due to World War II.

Edinburgh clubs dominated the Senior Championship right through to 1980 when Falkirk Victoria Harriers became the first club from outwith the city to win the title. Falkirk dominated from 1983 to 1993 apart from 3 wins by Borders club Teviotdale Harriers.

1993 to 1997 saw Racing Club Edinburgh with a run of wins until City of Edinburgh were victorious in 1998.

In 1999 Fife AC were the champions this being ironically the first time that the prized Sandilands Shield which had come from Kirkcaldy has been won by a club from the north side of the Firth of Forth.

Leagues for the younger age groups were added through the years.
Youths now called Under 17 Men started in 1956.
Senior Boys now Under 15 Boys in 1959.
Junior Boys now Under 13 Boys started in 1962
Colts now Under 11 Boys in 1976

Leagues for all female age groups were started in 2001.


The League has been blessed by many long serving officials.


1984 - Alex Jackson Ferranti AAC
1982-1984 David Nicolson Falkirk Victoria H
1977-1982 Mike Barnes Livingston & District AAC
1928-1977 George K Aithie Edinburgh Northern H/Edinburgh AC
1926-1928 Willie Carmichael Canon ASC
1924-1926 R.S.Aiken Heriots CCC

Incredibly George Aithie Snr served as Secretary for a remarkable 49 seasons which comes to 41 active seasons with the absence of 8 season during World War II. Alex Jackson took over in 1984 and has acted as Secretary to the present day. That is only 37 seasons which comes to 36 active seasons with the absence of season 2020-1 during the Covid-19 pandemic.


2020-2024 Sandra Hardacre Livingston AAC
2007-2020 Fred McCluskie Livingston and District AC
1984-2007 Bob Cherrie Pitreavie AAC
1983-1984 Jim Dingwall Falkirk Victoria H
1977-1983 Mel Edwards Aberdeen AAC
1976-1977 Mike Barnes Livingston & District AC
1975-1976 Jim Scott Tayside AC
1972-1975 Alan Knowles Edinburgh AC
1970-1972 Bill Walker Heriot Watt University CCC
1969-1970 J.Montgomery Forth Valley AC
1966-1969 Norman Waldie Gala Harriers
1961-1966 Alistair Falconer Edinburgh AC
1955-1961 G.K Horsburgh Edinburgh Northern H
1950-1955 Jimmy Mitchell Edinburgh Rover Scouts AC/Braidburn AC
1949-1950 R.R Royles Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds
1938-1949 Paddy Crosbie Edinburgh Southern H
1937-1938 D B McKenzie Heriots Cross Country Club
1934-1937 W. Dempsey Edinburgh Northern H
1930-1934 Willie Carmichael Canon ASC/Edinburgh Eastern H
1924-1930 G.M Grant Edinburgh Northern H

The Website

The original East District League website was constructed by Peter Jackson. Peter retired in season 2011-2 and the results part of the site lapsed until season 2014-5 when Ron Morrison and Alex Jackson got together to revive it taking much of the content from the original one.

Contributions to the site have come from

Alex Jackson
Peter Jackson
John Mackay
Ron Morrison
Adam Priestley