London Mini Marathon
Scottish Team Participation

The first London Mini Marathon took place in 1986 over the last 2.6 miles of the full marathon course with teams from the 33 London Boroughs taking part. Gradually others in the UK expressed an interest in competing. It was not until 1998 that the first North of the Border athletes took part. A boys team from George Heriots School, as the Edinburgh Secondary Schools Champions, represented the City of Edinburgh. They repeated this in 1999 and 2000 where they were joined by a girls team from Mary Erskine School.

From 2001 to 2008 the winning District teams in the U13, U15 and U17 Scottish Inter–District Championships won the right to represent the Scottish District at the Mini Marathon.

In 2009 a team representing Scotland replaced the Inter–District champions to allow North District athletes more opportunity to compete. This coincided with the English teams changing from Counties to the 10 English regions. At this point the SAL Road Running & Cross Country Commission decided to discontinue taking U13s to the event.

From 2011 the London Mini Marathon became the official British 3 mile road race championships. The three mile course stretches from London's Old Billingsgate to the Mall and is open to entrants from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, the 9 regions of England and the teams from the 33 London Boroughs. Before 2011 the age groups were taken on the day but were changed to UKA rules with the introduction of the British Championship.

From 2009-12 the Scottish team was selected on the basis of the National Cross–Country Championships but since then the main selection race is the Young Athletes Road Race Championships.

The team race results for every age group race is given in the "Results by Year" table below from 2006 onwards. The team totals from 2001-2005 are missing. The aggregate totals for the 6 races are irrelevant to the 4 Scottish teams. In all the team races it is 4 to count.

Scottish wheelchair athletes first appeared in 2010 with races for U14 and U17s male and female.

Some prominent Scottish athletes have a history of participating in the London Mini Marathon and gone on to success as senior athletes. They include

Andrew Buchart, Jamie Crowe, Eilidh Child, Neil Gourlay, Callum Hawkins, Alastair Hay, Derek Hawkins, Sarah Inglis, Josh Kerr, Samantha Kinghorn, Eilish McColgan, Morag McLarty, Laura Muir, Freya Murray, Beth Potter, Lachlan Oates, Chris O'Hare, Jemma Reekie, Lynsey Sharp, Annabel Simpson, Steph Twell, Jake Wightman.

Results by Year


Results overall by age group


Wheelchair results overall




Alex Jackson
Ian Mirfin
Ron Morrison
Neil Renton
Neil Short
Bryan Smith